Chef Cookbook - OpenStack Block Storage
You can not select more than 25 topics Topics must start with a letter or number, can include dashes ('-') and can be up to 35 characters long.
Lance Albertson 873b58d13b Update to apache2 ~> 8.0 cookbook 1 month ago
.delivery Add delivery config 1 year ago
attributes Update to apache2 ~> 8.0 cookbook 2 weeks ago
files/default block-storage refactor for Pike and Chef 13 2 years ago
recipes Update to apache2 ~> 8.0 cookbook 2 weeks ago
spec Update to apache2 ~> 8.0 cookbook 2 weeks ago
templates/default Update to apache2 ~> 8.0 cookbook 2 weeks ago
.gitignore Initial kilo updates 5 years ago
.gitreview OpenDev Migration Patch 10 months ago
.rubocop.yml starting rocky development patch 1 year ago
.rubocop_todo.yml starting rocky development patch 1 year ago
.zuul.yaml Rename openstack-chef-repo references to openstack-chef 1 year ago
Berksfile Update to apache2 ~> 8.0 cookbook 2 weeks ago
CONTRIBUTING.md Workflow documentation is now in infra-manual 5 years ago
LICENSE block-storage refactor for Pike and Chef 13 2 years ago
README.rst Update to apache2 ~> 8.0 cookbook 2 weeks ago
Rakefile Updates for rocky 2 months ago
TESTING.md Sync stackforge/cookbook* to openstack/cookbook* for cinder cookbook 4 years ago
metadata.rb Update to apache2 ~> 8.0 cookbook 2 weeks ago

README.rst

OpenStack Chef Cookbook - block-storage

image

Description

Installs the OpenStack Block Storage service Cinder as part of the OpenStack reference deployment Chef for OpenStack. The OpenStack chef-repo contains documentation for using this cookbook in the context of a full OpenStack deployment. Cinder is currently installed from packages.

https://docs.openstack.org/cinder/latest/

Requirements

  • Chef 14 or higher
  • chefdk 3.2.30 for testing (also includes berkshelf for cookbook dependency resolution)

Platform

  • ubuntu
  • redhat
  • centos

Cookbooks

The following cookbooks are dependencies:

  • 'apache2', '~> 8.0'
  • 'lvm'
  • 'openstackclient'
  • 'openstack-common', '>= 18.0.0'
  • 'openstack-identity', '>= 18.0.0'
  • 'openstack-image', '>= 18.0.0'

Attributes

Please see the extensive inline documentation in attributes/*.rb for descriptions of all the settable attributes for this cookbook.

Note that all attributes are in the default['openstack'] "namespace"

The usage of attributes to generate the cinder.conf is described in the openstack-common cookbook.

Recipes

openstack-block-storage::api

  • Installs the cinder-api and sets up the cinder database

openstack-block-storage::backup

  • Installs the cinder-backup service

openstack-block-storage::cinder-common

  • Defines the common pieces of repeated code from the other recipes

openstack-block-storage::identity_registration

  • Defines the cinder service/user/endpoints in keystone

openstack-block-storage::scheduler

  • Installs the cinder-scheduler service

openstack-block-storage::volume_driver_lvm

  • Configures lvm as the cinder storage backend

openstack-block-storage::volume

  • Installs the cinder-volume service

License and Author

Author Justin Shepherd (justin.shepherd@rackspace.com)
Author Jason Cannavale (jason.cannavale@rackspace.com)
Author Ron Pedde (ron.pedde@rackspace.com)
Author Joseph Breu (joseph.breu@rackspace.com)
Author William Kelly (william.kelly@rackspace.com)
Author Darren Birkett (darren.birkett@rackspace.co.uk)
Author Evan Callicoat (evan.callicoat@rackspace.com)
Author Matt Ray (matt@opscode.com)
Author Jay Pipes (jaypipes@att.com)
Author John Dewey (jdewey@att.com)
Author Abel Lopez (al592b@att.com)
Author Sean Gallagher (sean.gallagher@att.com)
Author Ionut Artarisi (iartarisi@suse.cz)
Author David Geng (gengjh@cn.ibm.com)
Author Salman Baset (sabaset@us.ibm.com)
Author Chen Zhiwei (zhiwchen@cn.ibm.com)
Author Mark Vanderwiel (vanderwl@us.ibm.com)
Author Eric Zhou (zyouzhou@cn.ibm.com)
Author Edwin Wang (edwin.wang@cn.ibm.com)
Author Jan Klare (j.klare@cloudbau.de)
Author Christoph Albers (c.albers@x-ion.de)
Author Lance Albertson (lance@osuosl.org)
Copyright Copyright (c) 2012, Rackspace US, Inc.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2012-2013, AT&T Services, Inc.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2013, Opscode, Inc.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2013-2014, SUSE Linux GmbH
Copyright Copyright (c) 2013-2015, IBM, Corp.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2019, Oregon State University

Licensed under the Apache License, Version 2.0 (the "License"); you may not use this file except in compliance with the License. You may obtain a copy of the License at

http://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0

Unless required by applicable law or agreed to in writing, software distributed under the License is distributed on an "AS IS" BASIS, WITHOUT WARRANTIES OR CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, either express or implied. See the License for the specific language governing permissions and limitations under the License.