Chef Cookbook - OpenStack Compute
You can not select more than 25 topics Topics must start with a letter or number, can include dashes ('-') and can be up to 35 characters long.
Lance Albertson 5d469d044e Fixes to support fog-openstack-1.x 3 weeks ago
.delivery Add delivery config 1 year ago
attributes Stop setting auth_version in DEFAULT section of nova.conf 2 months ago
files/default compute refactor for Pike and Chef 13 1 year ago
recipes Fixes to support fog-openstack-1.x 1 week ago
spec Fixes to support fog-openstack-1.x 1 week ago
templates/default Make nova.conf more readable 9 months ago
.gitignore Initial kilo updates 4 years ago
.gitreview OpenDev Migration Patch 2 months ago
.rubocop.yml Initial kilo updates 4 years ago
.rubocop_todo.yml starting rocky development patch 11 months ago
.zuul.yaml Rename openstack-chef-repo references to openstack-chef 11 months ago
Berksfile starting rocky development patch 11 months ago
CONTRIBUTING.md Replace http with https for doc links in cookbook-openstack-compute 1 year ago
LICENSE compute refactor for Pike and Chef 13 1 year ago
README.md Rename openstack-chef-repo references to openstack-chef 11 months ago
Rakefile compute refactor for Pike and Chef 13 1 year ago
TESTING.md Sync stackforge/cookbook* to openstack/cookbook* for nova cookbook 4 years ago
bootstrap.sh Fix bootstrap.sh 3 years ago
metadata.rb Change openstack-dev to openstack-discuss 7 months ago

README.md

Team and repository tags

Team and repository tags

Chef OpenStack Logo

Description

This cookbook installs the OpenStack Compute service Nova as part of the OpenStack reference deployment Chef for OpenStack. The https://github.com/openstack/openstack-chef contains documentation for using this cookbook in the context of a full OpenStack deployment. Nova is currently installed from packages.

https://docs.openstack.org/mitaka/config-reference/compute.html

Requirements

  • Chef 12 or higher
  • chefdk 0.9.0 or higher for testing (also includes berkshelf for cookbook dependency resolution)

Platform

  • ubuntu
  • redhat
  • centos

Cookbooks

The following cookbooks are dependencies:

  • ‘openstack-common’, ‘>= 14.0.0’
  • ‘openstack-identity’, ‘>= 14.0.0’
  • ‘openstack-image’, ‘>= 14.0.0’
  • ‘openstack-network’, ‘>= 14.0.0’
  • ‘openstackclient’, ‘>= 0.1.0’

Attributes

Please see the extensive inline documentation in attributes/*.rb for descriptions of all the settable attributes for this cookbook.

Note that all attributes are in the default['openstack'] “namespace”

The usage of attributes to generate the node.conf is decribed in the openstack-common cookbook.

Recipes

openstack-compute::api-metadata

  • Installs the nova metadata package

openstack-compute::api-os-compute

  • Installs OS API and configures the service and endpoints in keystone

openstack-compute::client

  • Install the nova client packages

openstack-compute::compute

  • Installs nova-compute service

openstack-compute::compute

  • Installs nova-conductor service

openstack-compute::identity_registration

  • Registers the nova endpoints with keystone

openstack-compute::libvirt

  • Installs libvirt, used by nova compute for management of the virtual machine environment

openstack-compute::nova-cert

  • Installs nova-cert service

openstack-compute::nova-common

  • Builds the basic nova.conf config file with details of the rabbitmq, mysql, glance and keystone servers

openstack-compute::nova-setup

  • Sets up the nova networks with nova-manage

openstack-compute::scheduler

  • Installs nova scheduler service

openstack-compute::vncproxy

  • Installs and configures the vncproxy service for console access to VMs

openstack-compute::serialproxy

  • Installs and configures the serialproxy service for serial console access to VMs

License and Author

Author Justin Shepherd (justin.shepherd@rackspace.com)
Author Jason Cannavale (jason.cannavale@rackspace.com)
Author Ron Pedde (ron.pedde@rackspace.com)
Author Joseph Breu (joseph.breu@rackspace.com)
Author William Kelly (william.kelly@rackspace.com)
Author Darren Birkett (darren.birkett@rackspace.co.uk)
Author Evan Callicoat (evan.callicoat@rackspace.com)
Author Matt Ray (matt@opscode.com)
Author Jay Pipes (jaypipes@att.com)
Author John Dewey (jdewey@att.com)
Author Kevin Bringard (kbringard@att.com)
Author Craig Tracey (craigtracey@gmail.com)
Author Sean Gallagher (sean.gallagher@att.com)
Author Ionut Artarisi (iartarisi@suse.cz)
Author JieHua Jin (jinjhua@cn.ibm.com)
Author David Geng (gengjh@cn.ibm.com)
Author Salman Baset (sabaset@us.ibm.com)
Author Chen Zhiwei (zhiwchen@cn.ibm.com)
Author Mark Vanderwiel (vanderwl@us.ibm.com)
Author Eric Zhou (zyouzhou@cn.ibm.com)
Author Mathew Odden (mrodden@us.ibm.com)
Author Jan Klare (j.klare@cloudbau.de)
Author Christoph Albers (c.albers@x-ion.de)
Copyright Copyright © 2012-2013, Rackspace US, Inc.
Copyright Copyright © 2012-2013, Opscode, Inc.
Copyright Copyright © 2012-2013, AT&T Services, Inc.
Copyright Copyright © 2013, Craig Tracey
Copyright Copyright © 2013-2014, SUSE Linux GmbH
Copyright Copyright © 2013-2014, IBM, Corp.

Licensed under the Apache License, Version 2.0 (the “License”); you may not use this file except in compliance with the License. You may obtain a copy of the License at

http://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0

Unless required by applicable law or agreed to in writing, software distributed under the License is distributed on an “AS IS” BASIS, WITHOUT WARRANTIES OR CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, either express or implied. See the License for the specific language governing permissions and limitations under the License.