Chef Cookbook - OpenStack Image
You can not select more than 25 topics Topics must start with a letter or number, can include dashes ('-') and can be up to 35 characters long.
Lance Albertson a78e903e12 Updates for Train 1 month ago
.delivery Stein fixes 3 months ago
attributes Updates for Train 1 month ago
files/default sync with rcbops/master as of f481cd8a322dc21526da3158d957f034a33e51fd 8 years ago
providers Stein fixes 3 months ago
recipes Updates for Train 1 month ago
resources Stein fixes 3 months ago
spec Updates for Train 1 month ago
.gitignore Initial kilo updates 5 years ago
.gitreview OpenDev Migration Patch 1 year ago
.rubocop.yml Updates for Train 1 month ago
.rubocop_todo.yml Updates for Train 1 month ago
.zuul.yaml Rename openstack-chef-repo references to openstack-chef 1 year ago
Berksfile Updates for Train 1 month ago
CONTRIBUTING.md Workflow documentation is now in infra-manual 5 years ago
LICENSE image refactor for Pike and Chef 13 2 years ago
README.rst Updates for Train 1 month ago
Rakefile Updates for rocky 7 months ago
TESTING.md Sync stackforge/cookbook* to openstack/cookbook* for glance cookbook 5 years ago
metadata.rb Updates for Train 1 month ago

README.rst

OpenStack Chef Cookbook - image

image

Description

This cookbook installs the OpenStack Image service Glance as part of an OpenStack reference deployment Chef for OpenStack. The OpenStack chef-repo contains documentation for using this cookbook in the context of a full OpenStack deployment. Glance is installed from packages, optionally populating the repository with default images.

https://docs.openstack.org/glance/latest

Requirements

  • Chef 15 or higher
  • Chef Workstation 0.18.3 for testing (also includes Berkshelf for cookbook dependency resolution)

Platform

  • ubuntu
  • redhat
  • centos

Cookbooks

The following cookbooks are dependencies:

  • 'openstackclient'
  • 'openstack-common', '>= 20.0.0'
  • 'openstack-identity', '>= 20.0.0'

Attributes

Please see the extensive inline documentation in attributes/*.rb for descriptions of all the settable attributes for this cookbook.

Note that all attributes are in the default['openstack'] "namespace"

The usage of attributes to generate the glance-api.conf is described in the openstack-common cookbook.

Recipes

openstack-image::api

  • Installs the glance-api server

openstack-image::identity_registration

  • Registers the API endpoint and glance service Keystone user

openstack-image::image-upload

  • Upload image to glance. If you want to upload image during openstack installation, you need to add this recipe or the os-image role to the run list in a certain role and ensure before this recipe or the os-image role glance api recipes have been executed.

openstack-image::swift_store

  • Install and configure swift glance packages

Glance Backend

The Glance cookbook currently supports file, swift, and Rackspace Cloud Files (swift API compliant) backing stores. NOTE: changing the storage location from cloudfiles to swift (and vice versa) requires that you manually export and import your stored images.

To enable these features set the following in the default attributes section in your environment:

Files

Swift

Custom Resources

image

Action: :upload

  • :image_url: Location of the image to be loaded into Glance.
  • :image_name: A name for the image.
  • :image_type: unknown, qcow, ami, vhd, vmdk, vdi, iso, raw. Defaults of unknown will use file extension '.gz', '.tgz' = ami, '.qcow2', '.img' = qcow.
  • :image_public: Set image to be public or private
  • :image_id: Set the image ID
  • :identity_user: Username of the Keystone admin user.
  • :identity_pass: Password for the Keystone admin user.
  • :identity_tenant: Name of the Keystone admin user's tenant.
  • :identity_uri: URI of the Identity API endpoint.
  • :identity_user_domain_name: User domain name for Keystone admin user.
  • :identity_project_domain_name: Project domain name for Keystone admin user.

License and Author

Author Justin Shepherd (justin.shepherd@rackspace.com)
Author Jason Cannavale (jason.cannavale@rackspace.com)
Author Ron Pedde (ron.pedde@rackspace.com)
Author Joseph Breu (joseph.breu@rackspace.com)
Author William Kelly (william.kelly@rackspace.com)
Author Darren Birkett (darren.birkett@rackspace.co.uk)
Author Evan Callicoat (evan.callicoat@rackspace.com)
Author Matt Ray (matt@opscode.com)
Author Jay Pipes (jaypipes@att.com)
Author John Dewey (jdewey@att.com)
Author Craig Tracey (craigtracey@gmail.com)
Author Sean Gallagher (sean.gallagher@att.com)
Author Mark Vanderwiel (vanderwl@us.ibm.com)
Author Salman Baset (sabaset@us.ibm.com)
Author Chen Zhiwei (zhiwchen@cn.ibm.com)
Author Eric Zhou (zyouzhou@cn.ibm.com)
Author Jian Hua Geng (gengjh@cn.ibm.com)
Author Ionut Artarisi (iartarisi@suse.cz)
Author Imtiaz Chowdhury (imtiaz.chowdhury@workday.com)
Author Jan Klare (j.klare@cloudbau.de)
Author Christoph Albers (c.albers@x-ion.de)
Author Lance Albertson (lance@osuosl.org)
Copyright Copyright (c) 2012, Rackspace US, Inc.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2012-2013, Opscode, Inc.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2012-2013, AT&T Services, Inc.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2013, Craig Tracey craigtracey@gmail.com
Copyright Copyright (c) 2013-2014, IBM Corp.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2014, SUSE Linux, GmbH.
Copyright Copyright (c) 2019-2020, Oregon State University

Licensed under the Apache License, Version 2.0 (the "License"); you may not use this file except in compliance with the License. You may obtain a copy of the License at

http://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0

Unless required by applicable law or agreed to in writing, software distributed under the License is distributed on an "AS IS" BASIS, WITHOUT WARRANTIES OR CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, either express or implied. See the License for the specific language governing permissions and limitations under the License.